Product · iRobot
Roomba Max 705 Combo: heated roller mop with cover
Note: This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more
The Roomba Max 705 Combo is iRobot's answer for households that want a self-washing roller mop and serious obstacle avoidance from a familiar brand. Its unusual idea is a protective cover that closes over the roller when the robot crosses carpet, instead of lifting the mop by a few millimetres. Paired with PrecisionVision AI that recognises pet waste, it suits pet owners with a mix of rugs and hard floors who dread a smeared accident.
- Suction
- 13,000 Pa
- Mop type
- PowerSpin roller, 200 RPM, extending
- Mop lift
- Protective cover over roller
- Dock jobs
- Auto-empty, heated wash, heated drying, solution dosing
- Runtime
- Not stated
In its favour
- Heated mopping and a 200 RPM PowerSpin roller, with SmartScrub for extra scrubbing on tough marks.
- AutoWash Dock gives up to 75 days of auto-emptying and 8 weeks of washing at one mop run per week.
- PrecisionVision recognises cords, socks and pet waste, and ClearView Pro LiDAR auto-names rooms.
Good to know
- Neither runtime nor battery capacity is given in the listing, so check coverage for larger homes.
- Carpets are protected by a cover over the roller, and the listing gives no lift height to judge thick rugs by.
Our take
The PowerSpin roller and cover
The roller spins at 200 RPM with consistent pressure, cleans itself continuously and extends for edges and corners through PerfectEdge. Heated mopping and an optional SmartScrub mode add extra scrubbing on stubborn marks, and iRobot claims it removes coffee stains 10 times better than its Roomba 105 Combo.
On carpet the cover shields the floor from the wet roller. iRobot gives no lift height, so you cannot compare it directly with the 15 mm or 18 mm figures quoted by Ecovacs.
Navigation and avoidance
ClearView Pro lidar sits hidden inside the body, builds 3D maps and names rooms automatically. PrecisionVision AI spots cords, socks and pet waste and steers around them, and it also looks for wet and dry messes ahead and repeats passes where needed. The app learns which rooms get dirty fastest and chooses settings to match.
Dock, suction and controls
The AutoWash dock offers 75 days of auto-emptying and eight weeks of heated mopping and roller washing, based on one mopping run per week. It also dries the roller with heat, dispenses cleaning solution and runs a self-clean cycle. The spec table shows 13,000 Pa, four suction levels and three liquid levels, with dual rubber brushes and dual edge-sweeping brushes. iRobot does not state the runtime or battery capacity, and voice control works with Alexa, Siri and Google Assistant.
Compared with other roller moppers
The Ecovacs T80S Omni and T90 Pro Omni bring far higher suction and a stated 15 mm roller lift. The eufy Omni S1 Pro rinses its roller in real time too. The Roomba's edge is pet waste recognition, which none of those listings mention.
Verdict
Choose the Roomba Max 705 Combo if pets, cords and socks are regular floor hazards and you want a heated roller mop with a dock that runs for weeks. If maximum suction on carpet matters more, the Ecovacs T90 Pro Omni is stronger on paper. If you mostly mop hard floors, the eufy Omni S1 Pro is a fuller-featured roller alternative.
Compared with alternatives in: Best robot vacuum and mop combos
Amazon listing title: iRobot Roomba Max 705 Combo Robot Vacuum & Mop + AutoWash Dock – Extending self-cleaning Roller Mop, Retractable Cover, Dual Brushes, Self-empties, Heat-Washes & Dries, Avoids Obstacles