Comparison
Roomba vs Eufy robot vacuums
Published
Note: This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more
In short
Roomba's current Combo robots pair ClearView lidar with PrecisionVision camera avoidance that recognises cords, socks and pet waste, and their AutoWash docks empty for up to 75 days. Eufy's Omni robots offer roller mops with 1 kg of pressure, larger stations with more jobs and longer quoted runtimes. Choose Roomba for pet-waste avoidance and a familiar app, Eufy for mopping strength and dock features.
iRobot
Roomba Max 705 Combo: heated roller mop with cover
Check price on AmazonAffiliate linkiRobot
iRobot Roomba 505 Combo: AutoWash dock, pet waste avoidance
Check price on AmazonAffiliate linkeufy
Eufy Omni S1 Pro: roller mop rinsed with clean water
Check price on AmazonAffiliate linkeufy
Eufy C28 Omni: 15,000 Pa with a 27 cm roller mop
Check price on AmazonAffiliate link
- Roomba Max 705 Combo: heated roller mop with cover
- Suction
- 13,000 Pa
- Mop type
- PowerSpin roller, 200 RPM, extending
- Mop lift
- Protective cover over roller
- Runtime
- Not stated
Check price on AmazonAffiliate link - iRobot Roomba 505 Combo: AutoWash dock, pet waste avoidance
- Suction
- Not stated
- Mop type
- n/a
- Mop lift
- n/a
- Runtime
- 120 minutes
Check price on AmazonAffiliate link - Eufy Omni S1 Pro: roller mop rinsed with clean water
- Suction
- Not stated
- Mop type
- HydroJet roller, 29 cm, 170 RPM
- Mop lift
- Yes, height not stated
- Runtime
- n/a
Check price on AmazonAffiliate link - Eufy C28 Omni: 15,000 Pa with a 27 cm roller mop
- Suction
- 15,000 Pa
- Mop type
- HydroJet roller, 27 cm, self-cleaning
- Mop lift
- Not stated
- Runtime
- 180 min
Check price on AmazonAffiliate link
| Product | Suction | Mop type | Mop lift | Runtime | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Roomba Max 705 Combo: heated roller mop with cover | 13,000 Pa | PowerSpin roller, 200 RPM, extending | Protective cover over roller | Not stated | Check price on AmazonAffiliate link |
| iRobot Roomba 505 Combo: AutoWash dock, pet waste avoidance | Not stated | n/a | n/a | 120 minutes | Check price on AmazonAffiliate link |
| Eufy Omni S1 Pro: roller mop rinsed with clean water | Not stated | HydroJet roller, 29 cm, 170 RPM | Yes, height not stated | n/a | Check price on AmazonAffiliate link |
| Eufy C28 Omni: 15,000 Pa with a 27 cm roller mop | 15,000 Pa | HydroJet roller, 27 cm, self-cleaning | Not stated | 180 min | Check price on AmazonAffiliate link |
Details as stated in the Amazon listing or by the manufacturer. See the current price on Amazon.
Our verdict
Pick the Roomba Max 705 Combo if pet-waste avoidance and a covered roller mop matter most, or the 505 Combo for the same avoidance at a lower level. Pick the Eufy Omni S1 Pro for the fullest station and long runtime, or the C28 Omni for a roller mop with quoted 15,000 Pa suction.
iRobot's Roomba is the name many people use for any robot vacuum, while Eufy, part of Anker, has built a wide range of value-focused robots that now includes full mop-washing stations. Both sell current models with lidar mapping, docks that wash the mop and app control. This comparison puts the Roomba Max 705 Combo and Roomba 505 Combo against the Eufy Omni S1 Pro and Eufy C28 Omni, all four taken from Amazon UK listings.
Mops: Roomba's covered roller against Eufy's HydroJet rollers
The Roomba Max 705 Combo uses a PowerSpin roller mop at 200 RPM that cleans itself as it goes, extends for edges, uses heated mopping and slides a protective cover over itself so carpets stay dry. The cheaper Roomba 505 Combo uses DualClean pads that extend at the edge and lift automatically when it senses carpet.
Eufy's Omni S1 Pro has a roller mop of about 11.4 inches that the HydroJet system refreshes with clean water at 170 RPM, pressing down with 1 kg. The C28 Omni has a 27 cm roller with the same 1 kg of pressure and real-time self-cleaning. Both brands therefore offer a self-rinsing roller near the top of the range; our roller against rotating mop comparison explains why that design suits large hard floors.
Docks and emptying intervals
Both Roomba AutoWash Docks list 75 days of auto-emptying into a bag. The Max 705 Combo dock also gives about eight weeks of heated mopping and roller washing based on one mopping run a week, heated roller drying, automatic solution dispensing and a self-clean cycle. The 505 Combo dock offers about four weeks of mopping and pad washing and heated pad drying.
Eufy's Omni S1 Pro station lists ten jobs: emptying, washing, drying, refilling, waste-water collection and detergent dispensing among them, with a sealed dust bag and a touch screen. The C28 Omni station empties, washes, refills, dries with hot air and collects dirty water. Whichever you choose, the clean and dirty water tanks still need regular attention; see how to empty a robot vacuum.
Navigation and obstacle avoidance
Roomba's strongest point is object recognition. Both Roomba models combine ClearView Pro lidar with PrecisionVision AI, which the listings say recognises cords, socks and even pet waste and steers around them. They also identify wet and dry messes ahead and repeat passes on them.
Eufy's S1 Pro uses 3D MatrixEye, which combines binocular infrared imaging with an RGB camera to build 3D models of objects. The C28 uses iPath 2.0 navigation that the listing says works in low light and under furniture. If you share your home with a puppy or cables on the floor, compare the avoidance claims carefully; our guide to robots with obstacle avoidance goes further.
Spec sheet from the listings
All figures come from the Amazon UK listings. Not stated means the listing does not give it.
| Spec | Roomba Max 705 Combo | Roomba 505 Combo | Eufy Omni S1 Pro | Eufy C28 Omni |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mop | PowerSpin roller, 200 RPM, cover | DualClean pads, auto-lift | Roller, 170 RPM, 1 kg | 27 cm roller, 1 kg |
| Auto-empty | 75 days, bag | 75 days, bag | Sealed bag | Yes, bag |
| Mop drying | Heated roller drying | Heated pad drying | Yes | Hot air |
| Avoidance | Lidar plus PrecisionVision | Lidar plus PrecisionVision | 3D MatrixEye | iPath 2.0 |
| Battery life | Not stated | 120 minutes | 216 minutes | 180 minutes |
| Suction | Not stated in Pa | Not stated in Pa | Not stated | 15,000 Pa |
Buying a Roomba in the UK
Some older Roomba listings on Amazon UK are imported stock with a North American plug and no UK warranty. Before you buy, check that the listing says UK plug and that the seller offers UK support. The current Combo models above are listed for the UK market.
iRobot quotes suction as a multiple of its old 600 series rather than in pascals, so you cannot compare it directly with Eufy's 15,000 Pa figure. Our suction explainer explains why that is less important than it looks.
Note:Use the plug and charger supplied for the UK. Never run a robot or dock through a travel adaptor or voltage converter.
Frequently asked questions
Is Eufy as good as Roomba? For mopping, Eufy's Omni roller models are strong rivals to Roomba's Combo range. Roomba's pet-waste recognition remains a key reason to choose it in homes with animals.
Do Roomba and Eufy use the same bags? No. Each dock takes its own bag shape, so buy bags for your exact dock model.
Which app is easier? Both the Roomba Home app and eufy Clean are straightforward for rooms, zones and schedules. Roomba's app adds dirt prediction that picks rooms automatically.
How do I find which Roomba I have? The model number is on a label under the robot. Our page on what Roomba you have shows where to look.
What you need
- Check price on AmazonAffiliate link
iRobot Roomba 205 DustCompactor: no emptying station needed
From: iRobot Roomba models compared: Combo, j series and s9+
- Check price on AmazonAffiliate link
eufy E28 Omni: 20,000 Pa plus a portable deep cleaner
From: Eufy robot vacuums compared: Omni stations and roller mops
- Check price on AmazonAffiliate link
Dreame X60 Max Ultra: two AI cameras with active lighting
From: Best robot vacuums that avoid cables, socks and pet mess
- Check price on AmazonAffiliate link
iRobot Roomba Combo 10 Max: mop retracts to top of robot